Follow eStore Kings

How to Close a Shopify Store and Deactivate Your Shopify Account

Sign into your Shopify Admin and log in as the store owner. Head on down to Settings at the left-hand bottom corner. Then, press on Plan under the first column. This is where you will see the Shopify plan your store is currently using.

Here, you will see Deactivate Store in red. Press on that and it will bring you to a little pop-up asking if you want to Start a new store or Deactivate store. Select Deactivate store. Shopify will then ask for the reasoning of this choice and you can pick whichever reason makes the most sense for you. You can add additional notes if you’d like but otherwise press Continue.

You will then get a warning about deactivating your store and will then be asked to create a password to continue this process. Once you are done with your password, click Deactivate now.

Now, your Shopify account is deactivated! Keep in mind that Shopify will store your information for two years if you ever have a change of heart.

Leave a comment

More Ideas & Inspiration

Check out the eStore Kings blog for the latest eCommerce news, marketing tips, product ideas and more.